Structure of the Executive


The President of Seychelles is the Head of State, Head of Government and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces of Seychelles.   The President is elected on the basis of universal adult suffrage and by secret ballot for a maximum term of five years.

The executive authority is vested in the President and extends to the execution and maintenance of the constitution and the laws of Seychelles and to all matters with respect to which the National Assembly has power to make laws.

The Cabinet of Ministers, comprising not less than seven or more than fourteen, is appointed by the President subject to the approval of a majority of the members of the National Assembly.  A Minister has such title, portfolio and responsibility as may be determined from time to time by the President and a Minister may be assigned the responsibility of more than one Ministry at any one time.

The Executive is organised into the following Ministries :
(for details refer to the Government Ministries page in this section)

Office of the President

Vice President’s Office

Ministry of Community Development, Social Affairs and Sports

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Transport

Ministry of Education

Ministry of Finance, Trade & The Blue Economy

Minister of Health

Minister of Tourism & Culture

Minister of Land-Use & Housing

Minister of Labour & Human Resource Development

Minister of Home Affairs

Minister of Environment, Energy & Climate Change

Minister of Fisheries and Agriculture

Minister of Investment, Entrepreneurship Development & Business Innovation